Scones Vs. Biscuits

So, as you know if you’ve seen this recipe, I made scones awhile back: Sophie’s Peanut Butter S’more Scones With Double Chocolate Ganache.  At that time, I’d made biscuits in the past, at BOCES, but I bring that I just throw things together, and see what I get when it comes to baking, I just followed the basic technique and went with the measurements as logically as I could.  I took my streusel recipe, and multiplied it by four so that I could have enough for the batter.  Then, I added one egg, some vanilla, and some milk until it came together.  It was a wet mixture as opposed to your typical scone made with a crumbly dough (I saw that on PW (The Pioneer Woman), but I’m not exactly sure it’s accurate for scones; then again, my way isn’t exactly accurate either because I’m never precise, so…), and they didn’t rise very much, but the texture of the finished was still dry, yet somewhat crumbly, I think, from what I remember last time I made them, and I think, from what I know, that’s the correct texture for scones.  As for biscuits, I want to make cheddar-rosemary ones, and biscuits are very similar to scones.  In my opinion (well…actually, from what I already knew from my mom before researching and taking the time to think), they have less sugar than scones.  My scone recipe has 1/4 cup of sugar, while the biscuit recipe that I created has just 1 tsp.  After researching (and thinking logically), I figured out that I think if I decrease the amount of fat and increase the amount of liquid, it will make for a moist flaky biscuit.  My scone recipe has 2 cups of flour, 3 sticks of butter (or margarine; 1 1/2 cups), and 3/4 cup of (whole) milk (or half and half of heavy cream; really, the different types of fat and liquid that I included in the recipe as alternate options for the butter and milk can alter the textures of biscuits from what I’ve read online, so I would think it could do the same for scones and other baked goods, and you might want to be careful with home much of those you add if you make one of the substitutions), while my biscuit recipe has 2 cups of flour, 2 sticks of butter (or margarine; 1 cup), and 1 cup of (whole) milk (or half and half or heavy cream).  Again, as I’ve mentioned a lot on this website, precision and accuracy of measurements affects baked goods, and if you’re like me, it’s good to know some of the science behind everything because after all, you’re experimenting.  Okay, so I have to go now, but if you have any other opinions contradicting mine about the differences between scones and biscuits, feel free to discuss them in the Comment section.

Leave a Reply

